To see more reviews, visit Airbnb Toad Hollow Vacation Rental in McCloud

Reviews

Ellen  Mar 30 - Apr 1 2018

Toad Hollow is adorable and very well appointed. Plenty of comfortable beds, games for the kids, a BBQ, and a wonderful front porch to just sit and look at Mt. Shasta. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back soon!


Eric L.
Great Weekend!
Feb 16, 2018
We had a fun weekend at Toad Hollow. Not too much snow, but we made the best of it by hiking the falls of the McCloud River and enjoying the town. We'd love to go back sometime!

Arlene D.
Wow - A lovely home

Junko  Sep 29 - Oct 4 2017· 

This was second stay for us from Japan. And we really enjoyed the lovely house. Everything was so great. We are looking forward to coming back again. Gratitude 


Jul 21, 2017
I still think of Toad Hollow - a lovely Mill home, well built and beautifully decorated. Mc Cloud is a quiet town that will bring you back in time. The home is situated one street back from the little down town, nice to walk to in the morning. A beautiful view of Mt Shasta from the property. Close to Mc Cloud falls - a got to see ! Also the next town north is Shasta, also really nice. Thank you Lindy - We look forward to coming back.


Emma  Jun 23 - Jun 26 2017

Perfect home base for a trip to the mountains.

Julie  Jan 27 - Jan 29 2017

Wonderfully charming house, with everything you need (and more!) for an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We felt "at home", except for the majestic view off the front porch! Can't wait to return! Thanks to Lindy and Dan for a fantastic weekend in the snow!


Aug 10 - Aug 13 2016

Toad Hollow Vacation Home is comfortable, cozy house, full of character. Lindy & Dan make it super welcome, and the neighborhood is really nice and friendly. Lindy, thank you so much for your recommendations! We really enjoyed Kyody Coffee and the nice Outdoor ! Looking forward to visiting Toad Hollow again.



Cindy G.
Great house! Great location!
Jul 21, 2016

The house was great and exceeded all of our expectations. Kitchen, bath, bedrooms fully equipped with all essentials. The amazing view of Mt. Shasta from the front lawn was spectacular. The owners were extremely kind and helpful and had wonderful recommendations. We would highly recommend this property.



Roseann P.
Jun 4, 2014

Toad Hollow is located in a quiet neighborhood It has a lovely backyard where we ate dinner. Nice hotel nearby has dinner also? House has everything you could need. Owner was very helpful describing how to use everything and had lots of info on local attractions. I would recommend this home to anyone!



Brilliant!  

Lawrence  Sep 24, 2012
Toad hollow is everything were were hoping for and more! Can't speak highly enough of the comfort and thoughtfulness we experienced with our whole extended family here.



Sep 6, 2012
Perfect Memorable Getaway

This sparkling clean vintage home is decorated and refurbished with the most luxurious beds and appliances, and the most tasteful decor from mid-century times. You have to go experience this step back in time---it's very satisfying to one's soul. The Fay Family has made this home a labor of love to share with others, and the communication with Lindy Fay was just amazing....I felt like she was my friend from the first phone call. As we arrived, we found a bottle of wine awaiting us and home-made cookies were delivered in the hour by a local gentleman who also brought organic buffalo treats for our dog, Rhonda. What a nice touch! From the Mountains to the Waterfalls to the Townsfolk---Friendly and Helpful and Welcoming....this quaint li'l town with Water fresh from the mountain...untouched by any chemicals....has so many wonderful places to see. The quaint historical Mercantile with an Old-Fashioned Candy Store, with original Old-Fashioned Wooden Sidewalks.....what an experience. So many old buildings from the early days when this town was a booming lumber mill...you don't see these anymore. We toured a few, and were blown away. The three seperate waterfalls that await---just beautiful. We even had one woman, as we stopped and asked directions, invite us to "Cow Camp" to come eat with them and swim in one "giant waterhole" with everyone---an event that didn't happen as we had to leave town, but next time, we will go find that waterhole! So, I hope I can convince you that....... You'll love Toad Hollow!!!


 

Heaven

Jill H.  07/20/12 

We had a wonderful stay in heaven...peaceful, clean, comfy, perfect! This house is in an excellent location, right downtown McCloud with a beautiful view of Mt. Shasta right out the door. The house is amazingly big and is in top shape. The property manager not only stopped by on the first day to answer questions, offer tourist help but a plateful of yummy cookies baked by his wife. Upon reserving, I spoke with the lovely lady owner who was warm and bubbly offering suggestions of places to visit surely conveying her love for the area. With all there is to do in the area, we drove to Burney Falls (40 mins) and had a picnic. Otherwise, relaxing in the house was also our favorite thing to do.


 

Carol   07/30/11 

My family of three has thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks at Toad Hollow now for three summers in a row and we look forward to our next visit. The house is spacious and charming and Lindy does a great job of making us feel welcome and comfortable.



Top Location in McCloud
05/26/11

We have stayed at just about every rental in McCloud as we go annually for a family trip. This location has it all....the comforts of home with the rustic nature of the old McCloud mill town left intact. The kitchen is one of the best I have used, and we are always cooking. The beautiful claro walnut on the island is a delight to look at and the house is laid out well and is extremely charming. The beds are some of the most comfy we have ever enjoyed while in McCloud!



Reviews

S & C Families February, 2011

Gracious comfort, ironed sheets, antique wooden floor boards washed by sunlight streaming in through sparkling windows. Fresh soft colors of sage and mint, and heated floors in the upstairs bathroom. A fully equipped kitchen where our friends whipped up a morning quiche, and then out exploring an unspoiled area. We came looking for snow but instead found a lovely little historic town with a bake sale in progress, an old train yard and the friendliest people in little shops and stores. There is a large nearby sledding hill for kids, and even when there's no fresh snowfall it is a short drive to Mount Shasta if you want serious white stuff. In the evening we were back at Toad Hollow for laughter and wine, and then all of us cozy and warm watching a movie together. This is our second time at Toad Hollow, and if you cherish a family experience in a charming and gracious setting, make it your home away from home too.



P, H, et. al  13, 2011

Well, none of us thought we’d be back this soon – but you know how lax parole hearings are these days… 

It’s been a wonderful visit again. Cozy evenings and (??) mornings with friends – bottles of wine, quiche and coffee, laughter and warmth. 

The place is beautiful as always. You did such a great job renovating! You can hardly make out the signs of our last stay. In hindsight you were soo right – horses are outdoor animals. 

Too soon we have to leave- but the memories of our visit remain in our hearts and in the police blotter.

Already we look forward to our next visit. It’s so cute how you try to change the address! All love,



Mixed Nuts, 2-13-11

President’s Day Weekend

After a beautiful day sledding – a fine dinner and wonderful friends - a game was played – a small plastic cap*, forcefully pushed towards a small hole in the middle of the table – much cheering, much yelling, the fear that we would be here all night trying to do the impossible? Yet, it was done, the small plastic piece disappearing into the hole in the table – who won? Who cares?! We were all winners, here in McCloud, enjoying the people, the terrain, the house –

Thank you Fays for the house and the chance to relax and enjoy the “McClouders”

Besides/in addition to lots of HS homework being done, we folks manage to shop, view lovely art, play ragtime on the Mercantile piano, march along the RR to the zen Falls, sled down concrete snow hills, and fluffy bunny flat hills – taking turns for the above fun stuff. Oh, and the police blotter.

Sorry to have to go home, but we carry all these refreshing moments with us.


……. The Mixed Nuts Strike again



A, M, D, S & K  6/16/10

Dear Fay Family,

You have a beautiful, lovely and comfortable home. You have made it an oasis for relaxation and comfortability. I lived sitting on the front porch drinking coffee and watching the bluebirdscome sit in the yard. Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


J H June 2010
Toad Hollow was even more than we had hoped for. There was plenty of room for all four couples and the dog. The home was comfortable, homey, historical, well maintained, clean and well stocked. We used the outdoor grill every night, eating dinner outside in the fresh mountain air. After four days of fishing, wandering around the local shops, exploring the lava tube caves, waterfalls, and mountain lakes, then ending our day by relaxing on the porch, we left feeling relaxed, and refreshed. We had never visited McCloud before, but we instantly felt at home and are now planning our next trip. Thank you for making this a memorable vacation with great friends.

 

Grandpa’s big 70th B-Day! May 2, 2010

It was great to see everybody! It was the first time I’ve seen most of these people in about 9 years. Thank you for giving me the chance to see my family.

Cheyenne

FIRST TIME IN 13 YEARS WE’VE ALL BEEN TOGETHER



H P, et al  2-14-10

OK so first of all- it wasn’t our fault; it was already lit, who knew that could happen. We thought it was suppose to make that noise, and the bear just made things awkward…

Ha ha just kidding. How wonderful that you have shared this with us – it feels like we are staying with good friends – your love and caring for this home are in every room. Just wonderful. 

Right now the sun is streaming in through the bright windows; upstairs the sound of our boys stirring; in the kitchen, the voices of dear friends. Soon, after eggs and coffee, back to the clear fresh air and children’s laughter on the toboggan hill. Heather has met lots of folks in town – I swear she knows their life stores already – and has declared them so friendly and warm – I think she’s half in love the place already. Too soon we must leave – but a small part of what we have found here comes with us, and we treasure it.


    


Pierce & J Dorm, UC Davis  April 26, 2009

Fay Family,

Thank you so much for allowing floor 2 of the Pierce J dorm at UC Davis to enjoy the weekend at your wonderful home. During our stay, we went hiking, swam in the lake, and umped into the river. The scenery here is absolutely gorgeous, and the house is quaint and adorable. We loved preparing a pasta feast, making delicious s’mores, and gathering around the TV to watch Forest Gump. This weekend was perfect – we are so grateful for your hospitality. We can’t wait to come back!!!

Love,

(floor 2)



B F & B Families, March 27, 2009 Santa Rosa CA

We had a wonderful time at your charming, comfortable home. We felt very at home and had a great time going to Shasta. We plan to return next season

Thank you!

The Beaches

Rohnert Park, CA

The Feltons & Brockell

Santa Rosa, CA

Thank You!

Hi, I’m Alex. I enjoyed staying here. Unluckily, I only got to stay here 4 a little bit. I’m really good at washing dishes. My mom makes me do them a whole lot, but I enjoy her bossing me around. I am very talented.



T Family, Santa Rosa, CA 

Aug 29 – Sept 1st, 2008 “Labor Day”

Dear Lindy and Dan,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful cozy home. Everywhere you look, it is so nicely decorated. I loved the claw foot – old fashioned bathtub. It reminds me of my grandmother’s home in Wisc.

Next time I would love to spend a week to see more of the area. We did walk up to the Middle Falls, and my husband and son went fishing and caught trout.

We spent a lot of time at my daughter’s boyfriend’s parents place in Shasta Forest.

Sincerely,



T F  Feb 24, 2008

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful home. We skied for four days and had a great time. Today we woke up to a foot of snow! Thank you for sharing your home with us. It’s a trip my three kids will never forget!



G & R Families, Dec 26-29 2007


Our stay at Toad Hollow was very relaxing and charming. We love the house and walking all around town!

The whole place was covered in snow – snowed almost our whole stay!

Of course being from the lowlands we loved the wonderland we woke up to each day!

Thank you for giving us a short vacation in your home – we will be back again.